US Drone Safety Week incorporates wide ranging events for amateurs and professionals


The Association for Unmanned Vehicle Systems International (AUVSI) has congratulated Representatives Rick Larsen (WA-02), Garret Graves (LA-06), and Sharice Davids (KS-03) on their recent bipartisan introduction of a resolution designating the week of November 16-22, 2020 as National Drone Safety Awareness Week (NDSAW). This year, many industry associations and groups are hosting events during NDSAW covering a variety of topics, from how to become a certified Part 107 pilot to creating a backyard drone obstacle course for kids. Remaining events are listed below:


November 18 @ 7:00 pm

Registering a Drone

Cincinnati, OH

Cincinnati FAASTeam https://www.faasafety.gov/SPANS/event_details.aspx?eid=102209&caller=/SPANS/events/ModifyEventList.aspx?type=2


November 18 @ 7:00 pm

From Recreational to Part 107 Commercial Drone Pilot

Philadelphia, PA Philadelphia

Philadelphia FAA Safety Team Enter name and email address to register https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/5896977038722680080


November 18 @ 7:00 pm

Just got a drone? Now what?

Harrisburg, PA

If you have questions like: Do I need to register? What are the rules? Where can I fly? Where can I go for answers? Join us for this interactive Zoom meeting. Hosted by Harrisburg FSDO, Allentown FSDO Register at https://faavideo.zoomgov.com/meeting/register/vJIsdu2qpz0pGWKWDVUhKH-hJvxq0XzbqdY


November 18 @ 7:00 pm

Panel Discussion with UAS & Aviation Professionals

Muncie, IN

RC Roundtable hosted panel discussion and other model aviation inspired stories. Hosted by Academy of Model Aeronautics


November 18 @ 7:00 pm

UAS Safety beyond the Regs Zoom Webinar

Prescott-Tuscon, AZ

Zoom webinar on Risk Management and Safety Meeting ID: 962 2844 1315 Password: 7m162n 5pm MST / 7pm EST Hosted by FAASTeam Drone Pros


November 18 @ 8:00 pm

National Drone Safety Week – Passion to Profession

Minneapolis, MN

Learn how to go from recreational flying to becoming a commercial drone pilot. 7pm CST / 8pm EST Hosted by Minnesota FAASTeam


November 18 @ 9:00 pm

What is LAANC and how do I use it?

Fullerton, CA

Fullerton Airport (KFUL) just for on LAANC and the focus is too train hobbyists and drone pilots in the Southern California region on what LAANC is and how to use it. Email event organizer for link to event. 6pm PST / 9pm EST. Hosted by Fullerton Drone Lab/Fullerton College


November 18 @ 10:00 pm

DRONE Operations 101

Fairbanks, AK

Topics include: • General Information • Airspace, Authorizations, • Regulation • Operational Waivers and Resources • Best Practices and Safe Operations • Unintended Hazards of DRONES • Common Alaska Occurrences • How to Report DRONE Incidents. 6pm AKST / 10pm EST Register using the webinar link prior to the event: https://attendee.gotowebinar.com/register/688396943238572560


November 19 @ 10:00 am

“How to Start a Police/Fire/ Emergency Response Drone Team”

Columbus, OH Columbus

This webinar will cover the steps to take and things to consider when starting up a UAS or “Drone” Unit in a local Police or Fire Department. We will cover things such as evaluating the need for a Drone unit; how they can be used and budget and administrative requirements. We will also talk about getting Officers certificated as licensed Part 107 UAS Pilots with the FAA. Register in advance for this meeting: https://faavideo.zoomgov.com/meeting/register/vJIsdeCtrzkqGa6HfobYfE8JeRA4KrAMVdQ After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.


November 19 @ 11:00 am

Improving Your Flying Skills

Irving, TX

Teaching current Drone Operators on ways to improve their flying skills. 10am CST / 11am EST


November 19 @ 11:00 am

Implementing A Drone Program in your agency.

Elgin, IL

Implementing a drone program in your agency. 10am CST / 11am EST Hosted by Elgin, Illinois Police Department Drone Team


November 19 @ 12:00 pm

STARTING a Drone Program

Thief River Falls, MN

In spirit of the FAA’s National Drone Safety Awareness Week, NCAT team sits down with Curtis Zoller, Dean of Aerospace at Northland Community and Technical College to discuss the steps to take to start a drone program. 11am CST / 12pm EST. Hosted by National Center for Autonomous Technologies Event link: https://cccconfer.zoom.us/j/96445942837


For more information

https://dronesafetyawarenessweek.com/event/


(Image: Shutterstock)


QUICK LINKS

CONTACT US

+44 (0) 1293 851 869

INFO@CIVATAGLOBAL.ORG

CIVATAglobal 

Meadow Court

Faygate Lane, Faygate

West Sussex

RH12 4SJ

United Kingdom

FOLLOW US

  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn